What is optometry?

Definition

Optometry refers to the measurements of the eye, and sight. Optometry is a discipline whose purposes are:

Visual defects

Optical defects such as nearsightedness, farsightedness, astigmatism or presbyopia are the most common visual problems. They can progress over time. Myopia (or nearsightedness) can often increase significantly over time. Eye strain, general health and environment can affect the optical defects.

An efficient binocular vision is necessary. From an early age, poor binocular vision can sometimes lead to dysfunctions as amblyopia or strabismus. Eye movements may be limited, slow or uncomfortable. Binocular dysfunctions as convergence insufficiency or visual saccades can affect reading fluidity.

A good focusing system (accommodation) is also a requirement for visual comfort.

School difficulties (low concentration, slow reading) and some forms of dyslexia can be related to visual dysfunctions.

The fast increase in visual needs caused by the evolution of our lifestyle (driving, more time of reading and on screens) leads to more and more visual dysfunctions. That can cause different symptoms as blurred vision, headaches, double vision, dry eyes or red eyes.

What we can offer you

Wearing glasses is a common way to compensate visual defects. It can also improve visual comfort and reduce the risk of developing other visual defects or visual dysfunctions.

Contact lenses can correct any visual defects and are a great alternative to glasses. They are the ideal solution for ocular disorders such as keratoconus and they may be involved in myopia control to slow the myopia progression.

Advices on ergonomics allow to use the visual abilities in the best possible way, for example in your office (light, screen position, seat position, etc).                  

The goal of vision therapy is to improve visual performance and enhance visual comfort. Training will help to reduce or eliminate the signs of eye strain and discomfort, usually associated to visual effort.

Role of the optometrist

The general goal of the optometrist is to improve the comfort and the efficiency of vision. Then, the optometrist:

Optometry qualifications

French optometrists have a Master’s level qualification in optometry. 
.

contact exavue optometrist paris 15

Book an appointment

It's very easy and just a few clicks

To book an appointment with one of our optometrists for a full vision assessment, please click the following button:

en_USEnglish

Qu'est ce que l'optométrie ?

Définition

De par son étymologie, le terme optométrie concerne la mesure de l’œil ou de la vue. Plus largement, l’optométrie est une discipline qui a pour objet :

Les problèmes visuels

Les défauts optiques de l’œil (myopie, hypermétropie, astigmatisme, presbytie…) constituent la source la plus connue des problèmes visuels. Ils peuvent évoluer dans le temps. La myopie, en particulier, s’accroît souvent au fil des années. La fatigue oculaire, la santé générale et l’environnement peuvent influer sur ces défauts optiques, parfois en les aggravant.

La qualité de la vision binoculaire est primordiale. Dès le plus jeune âge, une mauvaise vision binoculaire peut parfois entraîner une amblyopie ou un strabisme. Les mouvements des yeux peuvent être limités, lents ou inconfortables. Des troubles de la motricité oculaire, tels qu’une insuffisance de convergence ou des saccades visuelles, vont impacter la fluidité de lecture.

Une bonne capacité d’accommodation (mise au point de l’œil) est aussi une garantie de confort visuel.

Les difficultés scolaires (manque de concentration, lenteur et problèmes de lecture) et certaines formes de dyslexie peuvent être liés à un fonctionnement peu efficace des yeux.

L’accroissement rapide des besoins visuels que génère l’évolution du mode de vie (conduite automobile, lecture prolongée, écrans) entraîne une multiplication des troubles visuels. Ainsi peuvent apparaître une vision trouble, des maux de tête, des douleurs oculaires, des larmoiements, une sensibilité oculaire et une vision double.

Les solutions optométriques

Le port de lunettes est le moyen le plus connu de compensation des défauts de la vue (myopie, hypermétropie, astigmatisme, presbytie, …). Il peut aussi réduire le risque d’apparition de certains de ces défauts, limiter la progression de la myopie et améliorer le confort visuel.

Les lentilles de contact peuvent corriger tous les défauts visuels et sont une très bonne alternative au port de lunettes. Elles constituent la solution idéale pour des troubles oculaires tels que le kératocône et peuvent intervenir dans le contrôle de la myopie chez l’enfant et l’adolescent. Un équipement en lentilles orthokératologiques pourra corriger et freiner l’évolution de la myopie.

Les conseils d’ergonomie visuelle permettent un fonctionnement harmonieux de la vision et garantissent une utilisation optimale des capacités oculaires.                  

La préconisation d’exercices d’entraînement visuel vise à l’amélioration des performances et du confort visuel. On pourra ainsi atténuer ou faire disparaître les signes de fatigue oculaire et l’inconfort qui accompagnent l’effort visuel.

Le rôle de l'optométriste

L’objectif général de l’optométriste est l’amélioration de l’efficacité et du confort de la vision. Dans le cadre de son activité professionnelle, l’optométriste :

La formation en optométrie

Des optométristes français diplômés d’État. 
La formation en optométrie est assurée, après deux années d’études supérieures en optique :

contact exavue optometriste opticien paris 15 arrondissement XV

Prendre rendez-vous

C'est très simple et en quelques clics

Pour prendre rendez-vous avec l’un de nos spécialistes pour un bilan visuel complet, merci de cliquer sur le bouton suivant :

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais